Mentalist Question

jayouzts's picture
October 24, 2008 - 8:03pm
A question concerning the Mentalist in  the Alpha Dawn remastered:

The rules state that starting Mentalists may only
select one single skill regardless of the number of
skills they are normally entitled to begin with.

Does this mean they start with only one MENTALIST skill, or one skill period (presumably a mentalist one).

SmootRK's picture
October 24, 2008 - 8:14pm
I would say one Mentalist skill and must pick the other skill from other PSAs... meaning they cannot pick two Mentalist skills when beginning their adventuring career.
<insert witty comment here>

Corvus's picture
October 24, 2008 - 9:07pm
I'm with Smoot on this one.  I'd read that as meaning the Mentalist may have one Mentalist PSA skill and must take the other skill from another PSA.
If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe. -- Carl Sagan

jayouzts's picture
October 25, 2008 - 7:59am
I was leaning to the same interpretation.  Otherwise, it would seem to make the Mentalist a bit weak.

Anonymous's picture
w00t (not verified)
October 25, 2008 - 9:33pm

Let us know how the character plays.


CleanCutRogue's picture
November 23, 2008 - 10:26pm
Hi all...

Yeah, Smoot's interpretation is the way I play.  And since those rules were made up by me, I guess that's the official interpretation haha... 

If you come up with any new Mentalist ideas, please share.  The Alpha Dawn Remastered version I made worked great in playtest, and we have a campaign we play where two of the four players are mentalists (sorta star-wars ish campaign).  The existing mentalist rules as presented in that book seem to work sufficiently, but we don't play that campaign often enough for me to know the very-long-term success or failure of those rules.

3. We wear sungoggles during the day. Not because the sun affects our vision, but when you're cool like us the sun shines all the time.

-top 11 reasons to be a Yazirian, ShadowShack